Best Paper of the Conference Award
 A. Description
 The Best Paper Award is awarded for each conference to all co-authors of the selected paper. This Award recognizes the authors of the paper which is judged to be the best in terms of quality, innovativeness, and significance of the work described. It also recognizes excellence of the presentation.
 B. Administration
 The ERPS Board of Directors will appoint a leader of the Best Paper Award selection process for each edition of the International Electric Propulsion Conference. The leader may be a member of the ERPS Board of Directors, or a member of one of the Conference Committees for the conference. The Award will be presented at a subsequent edition of the IEPC, in general the next.  The appointed selection committee leader will then contact senior members of the electric propulsion community to establish a Best Paper Selection Committee with no less than 3 members, which then evaluates the eligible conference papers according to the criteria described below.
 C. Eligibility
 All papers successfully submitted and presented at the corresponding conference are eligible to the Best Paper Award. The Best Paper Award process does not consider Poster presentations.
D. Paper Nominations
 Nominations are provided by all session chairs and co-chairs of that Conference. A Best-Paper Recommendation Form is filled out at the end of each session in the Technical Program. Only (and all) papers recommended by at least one session co-chair will be considered for Best Paper Award. The Conference Organizing Committee is responsible for providing blank recommendation forms to all session chairs and co-chairs, and for collecting and returning the completed and signed forms to the ERPS and the leader of the Best Paper Award selection process.

E. Basis for Best Paper Selection
 The papers will be ranked based on the judging criteria below, which bear equal weight:
     1.  Quality of the work: are the theoretical / experimental / numerical results of a high quality? Are sources of error and  uncertainty discussed? (25%)
     2.  Innovativeness of the work: does the paper demonstrate an innovative and original approach to addressing the paper's topic?  (25%)
     3.  Significance and potential impact on the field: do the presented  results, design, approach, new diagnostics developed, etc. present a  breakthrough and impact the paper's field? Do they cause a change in  the approach to designing and/or implementing EP-related devices? Will  the papers     findings result in a significant improvement in our  understanding and may lead to improved device performance and/or  lifetime? Does the paper presented impact how mission planners view and implement the use of electric propulsion devices, does it generate new opportunities? (25%)

    4.  Excellence of presentation, clarity, organization, and conciseness: is the paper well written and well organized? Is the paper easy to read and follow? Are the authors' discussions and explanations concise and to the point? Are the graphics clear and easy to interpret? (25%)

F.  Once the best paper is selected the scoring results are presented to the ERPS Board of Directors for ratification.  The Best Paper award is presented at the subsequent IEPC.

G. Award Value - winner will receive $1,000.00.


Current Recipients:

Note: 2019 winner will be announced at the 37th IEPC in Boston

2017 IEPC -  Benjamin Vincent, Sedina Tsikata, George-Christian Potrivitu, and Stéphane Mazouffre

“Incoherent Thompson Scattering Diagnostic Development for Plasma Propulsion Investigation”

Past Recipents:

Best paper of IEPC 2009:
IEPC-2009-114, Ioannis G. Mikellides, Ira Katz, Richard R. Hofer and Dan M. Goebel, “Hall Effect Thruster Simulations with 2-D Electron Transport and Hydrodynamic Ions”.

Best paper of IEPC 2011:
IEPC-2011-050, by Eduardo Ahedo and Mario Merino, titled “On electron inertia and current ambipolarity in magnetic nozzle models”.

Best Paper of 2013:  
IEPC-2013-311, James Szabo, Mike Robin, Surjeet Paintal, Bruce Pote, Vlad Hruby, and Chas Freeman, "Iodine Propellant Space Propulsion"

Best Paper of 2015:
IEPC-2015 - Hiroyuki Koizumi, Hiroki Kawahara, Kazuya Yaginuma, Jun Asakawa, Ryu Funase, and Kimiya Komurasaki
"In-Flight Operation of the Miniature Propulsion System Installed on Small Space Probe: PROCYON”